Teachers: Care About What you Teach

I try not to fall asleep in class because I know that if I were the teacher I would be offended if as I was teaching people were just so incredibly bored that they couldn’t stay awake. However, if your teaching style is to turn off the lights and put on a video about what we are covering instead of actually doing your job and teaching it to us yourself, I’m not going to try to stay awake.

Teachers are amazing and without them we’d all be lost, but some of them really half ass it. They just read from a power point, or put on a video, or hand out a worksheet and have the students figure it out themselves.

Last night I didn’t finish all of my work until about 3:30 a.m. and it wasn’t because i procrastinated or anything like that, no. It is because my Honors English teacher at one of the best high schools in the state didn’t explain half of the assignment, nor did she teach us anything that the assignment was on. In class she simply put on an audio tape of some old guy talking about how Anthem influenced whatever and brought up ideas of something, and then handed us a packet on our way out saying it’s due Monday.

Well, Mrs. ******, you are our teacher, not the old guy on the tape. He shouldn’t be ranting about it when we have a fully capable teacher who studied this stuff for years that could be teaching it to us. Anyway, I spent the entire day trying to figure out what I’m supposed to do for the assignment and I got about two hours of sleep. Then in class the next day my teacher put on a video. She sat behind her desk on her phone and made us watch a video. I was up all night working on her assignment, so yeah, I’m going to sleep in class.

I never sleep in class if the teacher is standing at the front teaching about something they care about. I respect those kinds of teachers. I don’t respect teachers like Mrs. ******, and I’m going to sleep in her class if she doesn’t care enough to do her job. If you’re a teacher, PLEASE go into a field that you care about so your students aren’t bored out of their minds.

I take financial lit this year because it’s a requirement to graduate, and nothing we learn in that class interests me at all. I know it’s necessary, but I don’t enjoy spending an hour going over how a paycheck works. But, that is very interesting to my teacher and you can see that. He stands in front of the class every day and he talks loud and he waves his hands and he is just alive. Even though what we learn in that class is boring to me, how much my teacher cares about it and how much effort he puts into it  makes the class interesting.

SO, the takeaway from this is if you are a teacher, please care about what you teach because if you don’t the kids will not respect you or the class.

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

